Hobbies are nice.

23 Jul

Thanks to Pinterest, I’ve discovered yarn wreaths, which have seem to be a great mix of old lady craft fair staleness and whimsical decoration of endless possibilities. My first one was a mash up of some I had seen on Etsy, and came out pretty freaking awesome.
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

But one is never enough. I decided to do two more: one Rays themed one, and of course a Gator themed one. Tonight, I completed the Rays wreath!

First, I got out some small wooden letters. I decided to paint letters for both wreaths at the same time, so you’ll see some Gator related wooden letters on there too.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

I decided to go with stripes for the rays letters. Not entirely sure why.

Next, I knew I wanted the “ray of sunshine” logo somewhere, so I made it out of felt. I cut the yellow one first, and then glued that to the other two layers and cut them out accordingly.
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Here I am in the process of cutting the dark blue layer

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Then comes the wrapping. I’m a little lackadaisical with my yarn wrapping. I don’t need it to be perfect, I just want it to cover the wreath. I use the fake wooden wreaths from Joann Fabrics instead of the foam wreaths, and just keep the plastic on for ease of yarning. They are bigger than the foam wreaths and less expensive.

For yarn I use super saver yarn because, unlike knitting, I’m not concerned about quality or comfort- just the color.
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
I forgot to take any in progress pictures of the wrapping, so here is the final wrapped wreath:
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Finally, I broke out the trusty glue gun and put everything in place.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Overall, this project took me a little over two hours to complete. It was less time consuming than my previous wreath because I didn’t need to make all those tedious roses. I’m not totally into the stripes on the letters; I feel like the blue and white gets lost in the yarns. I may go pack and paint them yellow or blue and yellow.

Oh yeah, and go Rays!

Leave a comment